Remembering…

Tuesday, September 11, 2001…

Do YOU remember where you were? I sure do…

I remember getting ready for work that morning…

I, like, NEVER watch the news but I felt really compelled that morning to turn on CNN…

I did and about 15 minutes later was the story of the first plane hitting…

And then the 2nd not too long after…

And then I left for work and heard on the radio of the 3rd hitting the Pentagon…

And then at work we were watching TV (who wasn’t?) and heard of the 4th plane that went down…

We all knew that our lives were never going to be the same…

I remember the tears…

the questions of why…

the questions of who…

the questions of what was next.

I also remember gathering with the people in my town that Saturday evening
for a candle-light vigil…

That was the most incredible thing I have ever seen…

For once, the United States of America was TRULY united…

Man, Woman, Child…

Young and Old…

Blacks and whites and everything in between…

Catholics, Lutherans, Jewish… Atheists…

All truly united for one reason…

Remembering that we ALL are AMERICANS.

We held hands, held each other, chanting… “USA! USA! USA!”

It was that moment when I looked around,
and I realized what it truly meant to be FREE…

No, I will never forget…

The WORLD will never forget…

The following is a video posted by FP from Thinking Of Rob.
No other words are needed…

4 Responses to “Remembering…”

  1. Amber Says:

    I remember where I was:

    I was in college and I only had one class on Tuesdays and it was at 11am. That day I woke up out of a dead sleep at like 8:30am and I never do that. So I get my books for class thinking I’d stop in at the cafeteria, eat breakfast, go to the library maybe, then go to class. I get my food and that’s when I first notice I’m solo in the room which even for that time is pretty rare. So I take a seat in front of one of the tv’s in the cafeteria and it’s usually college tv. Well this time it was CNN and it was footage of the first tower smoking. There was a cafeteria worker that was standing next to my table and I remember asking her if this was a movie. She said “No, darlin’, this is reality” My jaw dropped and I sat there and soon after I watched as the plane hit the other tower. I stood up and said out loud “OMG! Another plane hit another tower!” and the ladies came out of the cafeteria and started to watch with me and we started crying because we just couldn’t comprehend. I pry myself from the tv in the cafeteria in enough time to go to class, just to find out they closed the school down because they were afraid that they would start going after college campuses next. So I go back to my dorm and tried calling everyone I knew. For awhile I couldn’t get through to anyone. I finally get through to my brother and we sat watching the same thing over the phone together.

    I will never forget sitting there and watching all the police and fire department people running into the buildings, essentially fearlessly running to their death. Their heroism still astounds me to this day. 9-11-01, NEVER FORGET.

  2. sasloon Says:

    I was attending college in Purchase, NY, 30 miles north of Ground Zero. I was in my 8:30 am class, Computer Concepts with Business Applications, and life was going on as usual. Class was taught by the school’s head IT guy, dark-skinned black dude. Knew something was fishy when we got a knock on the computer lab door…no one ever interrupted that class. The prof went to go answer it, and I swear to you, his skin blanched 3 shades when he came back in the room. “Class dismissed. See you next week.” “What’s going on?” “Somebody just flew an airplane into the World Trade Center.” He hustled back to the front of the classroom as this conversation took place, grabbed his briefcase, and hi-tailed it out of there. We were all pretty stunned…nothing quite registered…so we all slowly ambled back to the dorms. I saw people running and screaming across the Quad. I went into my dorm and headed to my floor. Heard a television humming in one room and stopped in…saw one tower standing and on fire…and maybe 5 minutes after I got there, watched it fall live. Those of us standing in that room just looked at the TV gaping…none of us knew what to say or do. After a while, I went back outside…and looked to the south. You could see this ominous black cloud rising up from the south while standing on the highest point on our campus. As the day unfolded, we ended up not attending class the rest of the day as they’d cancelled all classes…and we figured out that we were completely cut off communication-wise. Many cell towers and Internet cables that fed the entire New York Metro area ran through those buildings, so when they went down, so did the communication lines. Land line phones weren’t working either. So people were screaming and crying frantically because they couldn’t check on their family members, nor could their families reach us. We didn’t have means to contact others until that Friday (the towers went down on a Tuesday), when our Internet was back up and running. I remember getting tons of e-mails from people asking if I was OK, as most knew I was attending school in New York. I was OK and everyone I was close to up there was OK, as were their families…but being so close to the disaster, we were all affected in some way regardless.

    It was quite an experience living through that day and the months afterward…

    • sloopy1975 Says:

      I remember that the phone lines were jammed, cuz I remember frantically trying to get a hold of you to see that you were OK (cuz I didn’t really know how close you were to Manhattan… and even if I would have known, I still would have been worried cuz I had no way of knowing if you’d be in the city for one reason or another)

      Days went by before I heard from you. Finally I think it was that Saturday that I got your email saying everything was fine, and I never was so happy to receive an email in all my life!!!

      I *still* have that email saved, actually… and the one you wrote me a couple days later describing everything that went down…

Leave a Reply

