A Cry For Help!

OK, so instead of seeing dead people, I just see stupid/rude ones, lol…

(go ahead, click below… no one’s watching…)



Anyway…


If you read my first blog post and/or my “About Me” page, you know that I work as a hairstylist.

Of course, if any of you have worked with the public at any point of time in your working careers, you will be able to relate to this, at least a little…

So yesterday started off in a shitteous fashion… woke up with a bit of a headache that I couldn’t shake, and when I was doing my very first haircut of the day, it drifted into migraine status… *ugh*

NOT good…

Of course I am unable to leave work for 3 reasons:

#1, there is no one available to replace me on such short notice…

#2, I can’t afford to go home unless I am on my death bed, and even THEN I will seriously think about staying at work until I actually flatline…
(*beeeeep* lol…)

and #3, I have a request customer for a perm appointment in the morning
(which never makes for a good day in itself cuz I LOATHE doing them…
but I digress…)

So I power through… even though once the smell of the perm solution hit my nose I thought I was going to die on impact as my head was pulsating with every breath I took in… but onward I pressed…

Fuckin’ Mondays… ugh…

Lucky for me, my headache/migraine starts to finally break after lunch-ish…

So, Monday’s finally starting to look up, even though the rest of the afternoon is deader than Haley Joel Osment’s friends…
But we get a surge of customers within the last half-hour or 45 minutes of my day (which ended at 5 pm).

Just when I was about ready to leave… I had about 20 minutes left…
I go up front to take a lady that walked in for a haircut…

I call her back…

“Connie***, come on over!!”
(***name has been changed to protect the stupid)

And she says… I tell you no lie…
“I don’t want *YOUU* to cut my hair.”
(insert Connie’s scowling fugly face here… surprised the stupid troll didn’t stick out her tongue at me when she said it…)

And this was me, thinking to myself in disbelief…
Seriously? Did you just fucking say that to me, biatch??
(insert MY KillingYouWithAJediMindTrick look here…)

Y’know, in the field of hairstyling (and any customer service job in general) there’s gonna just be some customers that don’t like you. I get that.
I’ve been doing hair for over 14 years now, and I’ve gotten pretty thick-skinned when it comes to that kind of stuff…

But to blatantly come out and say it like that…
HOW in the blue FUCK do you not take offense to that?!

I don’t care that she didn’t want me to cut her stupid fucking helmet hair,
but to just come out and say it so abruptly like that…
This is what the sea urchin the nice lady *should* have said…

Me: “Connie, come on over!”
Connie: “Well, um, if you don’t mind, I’d like her (*points*) to do my hair,
she did it last time and I really liked it…”
Me: “Oh sure, that’s not a problem!”
(complete with me not wanting to leave flaming dog poo
on her front porch, among other things)

😀 😀 😀


The point of this little rant?

There’s a way to get what you want
without being so rude and/or stupid, people!!!
Some people are just five pounds of stupid in a one pound bag… ugh…


The worst part of the whole thing was…
that my fiancee was there when this happened.
He met me at my work cuz we were going to
run an errand together when I was done.
He teased me about it all evening after the fact…

Boys… ugh… lol…


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “A Cry For Help!”

  1. sasloon Says:

    Sounds like you need to start a School of Basic Tact. 😛 Five pounds of stupid in a one pound bag…love it. 🙂 We’ve all got our “war stories” of customer service…anyone who doesn’t, needs to go get a customer service job, stat. You haven’t lived until you’ve done time in the trenches.

    • sloopy1975 Says:

      I agree… the ones that haven’t worked customer service are the ones that are bitching at the waitress for the COOK making their food wrong. Don’t kill the messenger, right? They also either don’t tip, or tip very badly. You become a much better tipper when you appreciate what they are worth…

  2. sasloon Says:

    Yeah, the waitress catching flak for the cook’s bad move…or, any front line customer service person doing THEIR JOB and ENFORCING COMPANY POLICY–that THEY DID NOT WRITE–and getting an earful about it. No, never happened to me, ever. :-/

Leave a Reply

